Cricket World Cup Preview : Australia

Cricket World Cup Trophy

The 2015 World Cup takes place in Australia and New Zealand from February 14-March 29 where India will be the defending champions in the 14-nation tournament. One month out from the start, here take a brief look at the current form and prospects of the competing teams:

Pool A


Hosts Australia head into the World Cup on the back of a 4-1 series win over South Africa in November and will have their final hit-out in a tri-series against defending champions India and England.

Michael Clarke has been named as captain depending on a fitness test after recent hamstring surgery with George Bailey standing by should he not make the deadline.

Selectors named a strong 15-man squad, featuring David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Mitchell Johnson and all-rounders James Faulkner, Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell.

The Aussies will be among the favourites for a record fifth World Cup after wins in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007. India ended the Australians’ 12-year reign as champions with victory in the quarter-finals of the last 2011 event in Ahmedabad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.