India beat Ireland by eight wickets

Rohit Sharma of India plays the ball away

India beat Ireland by eight wickets to record their fifth win in as many World
Cup Pool B matches in Hamilton on Tuesday.

The defending champions bowled Ireland out for 259 in 49 overs before openers
Shikhar Dhawan smashed 100 and partner Rohit Sharma 64 as India chased down
the target in 36.5 overs on a batting-friendly pitch at Seddon Park.

The pair shared an Indian World Cup record opening stand of 174.

Ireland, who batted after winning the toss, owed their total to a run-a-ball
75 from Niall O’Brien, while skipper William Porterfield made 67.

Paceman Mohammad Shami finished with 3-41.

This victory ensured India, already in the last eight, finished at the top
of Pool B while Ireland will likely need a win against Pakistan in their last
pool match in Adelaide on March 15 to reach the quarter-finals.

Complete scoreboard in the World Cup Pool B match between India and Ireland
at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Tuesday:


W. Porterfield c Yadav b Sharma 67

P. Stirling c Rahane b Ashwin 42

E. Joyce b Raina 2

N. O’Brien c Yadav b Shami 75

A. Balbirnie c Shami b Ashwin 24

K. O’Brien c Dhoni b Shami 1

G. Wilson c Rahana b Jadeja 6

S. Thompson run out 2

J. Mooney not out 12

G. Dockrell c Dhoni b Yadav 6

A. Cusack c Yadav b Shami 11

Extras: (lb2, w9) 11

Total: (all out; 49 overs) 259

Fall of wickets: 1-89 (Stirling), 2-92 (Joyce), 3-145 (Porterfield), 4-206
(Balbirnie), 5-208 (Kevin O’Brien), 6-222 (Wilson), 7-226 (Niall O’Brien), 8-227
(Thompson), 9-238 (Dockrell), 10-259 (Cusack)

Bowling: Yadav 4-0-34-1 (1w), Shami 9-0-41-3 (5w), Mohit Sharma 6-0-38-1 (3w),
Jadeja 7-0-45-1, Ashwin 10-1-38-2, Raina 10-0-40-1, Rohit Sharma 3-0-21-0


R. Sharma b Thompson 64

S. Dhawan c Porterfield b Thompson 100

V. Kohli not out 44

A. Rahane not out 33

Extras: (b4, lb2, w13) 19

Total: (for two wkts; 36.5 overs) 260

Fall of wickets: 1-174 (Rohit Sharma), 2-190 (Dhawan)

Did not bat: S. Raina, M. Dhoni, A. Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Mohit
Sharma, U. Yadav

Bowling: Mooney 6-0-44-0 (4w), Cusack 8-0-43-0 (1w), Thompson 6-0-45-2 (8w),
Dockrell 5-0-44-0, Stirling 5-0-36-0, K. O’Brien 6.5-0-42-0

Result: India win by eight wickets

Toss: Ireland

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Tv umpire: Johan Cloete (RSA)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.